Christene Hgh
map-marker Ocean Springs, Mississippi

You’re a bunch of crooks

I paid to have a consult and now you want more money for me to ask questions. Ill make sure you will get exposed for fraudulent billing.
View full review

User's recommendation: Do not use this Reedsy

Floyd P Qux

This review is written by an individual who has purchased the reviewed product/service and/or confirms being a paying customer of this company. Check our FAQ

Verified Buyer
|

This review is from a real person who provided valid contact information and hasn't been caught misusing, spamming or abusing our website. Check our FAQ

Verified Reviewer
| map-marker Hyderabad, Telangana

I DID NOT RECIEVE MY PRODUCT WHICH I PAID $12,844.88 FOR !!

stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full
Reedsy - I DID NOT RECIEVE MY PRODUCT WHICH I PAID $12,844.88 FOR !!
Reedsy - I DID NOT RECIEVE MY PRODUCT WHICH I PAID $12,844.88 FOR !! - Image 2

I contracted with Ms Andrea Williams who was listed with Reedsy as a Writer and author to write my memoir back in February 2023. At first, we communicated weekly, which quickly changed to monthly communications due to the writer's other personal obligations.

I was assured that the project would be complete by August 2023. In August, she sent me four poorly written incomplete chapters and asked for an extension on the deadline. I agreed to extend the deadline to December 31, 2023. I explained to Ms Williams that I have serious health issues, and we must complete my memoir as soon as possible, she assured me that it would be completed by the end of the year.

When the end of the year came, Ms Williams asked for another extension until April 1, 2024, I reluctantly agreed. On March 30, I spoke with Ms Williams, who told me that the project was not complete, and that she would still need additional time. I said, "No" and that I wanted 8,000.00 dollars refunded to my account due to breach of contract. She agreed and said she would return the money by April 5, 2025.

I have not received a refund or any communication from Ms Williams.

To make the problems worse, Reedsy has marked the project as completed. I expect Reedsy to assist me in this matter as soon as possible.

View full review
Loss:
$12000
Pros:
  • Reasonabe prices
Cons:
  • Do not screen the writers

Preferred solution: Full refund

User's recommendation: Please be very careful; Reedsy does not seem to vet the people they list.

Chioma O Yqo

This review is from a real person who provided valid contact information and hasn't been caught misusing, spamming or abusing our website. Check our FAQ

Verified Reviewer

UDAAP violation of abusive and deceptive practices of taking customers funds with no service given

stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full
Reedsy - UDAAP violation of abusive and deceptive practices of taking customers funds with no...

An Escalation Supervisor at Reedsy needs to contact me ASAP about these debit of funds for no services given. I have escalated it, till date nobody from the escalation team has contacted me.

Unfortunately between the start date 10/31 to the end date 11/10. I had no draft or any work sent to me. Half way into the timeline was Nov 4th/ 5th. With nothing produced as indicated in my previous communiquevto Curtis, I was weary of quality of a haphazard job rushed.

Since nothing was produced and sent to me as as at Nov 6th, 2023. I knew I would not accept a last minute job, so I cancelled. You can clearly in all communiques which I have copies of, my fears about half hazard jobs. I am speaking for the last time, I need to be contacted by someone in your escalation team.

Or this will go viral, if I am being stopped and bullied into paying for no services despite my correspondences to You and Curtis timely about his posture, not to produce any services for me. If no body contacts me from your escalation department to resolve this. I will assume, that Reedsy responsive in resolvingvwhat would be termed a UDAAP violation and it will take another shift.

So, I suggest for the last time, that youvescalate it get back with me informing me who is working to resolve this matter, this is my final call! Thank you.

View full review
Loss:
$275
Cons:
  • Have no escalation services for disputes

Preferred solution: Full refund

User's recommendation: It’s an unreliable freelancer site to do business with, I ordered services. Freelancer scheduled a 10 day turn around, by day 7 no draft, no documentation, no service offered. I escalated it, the representative Alex refused to escalate it and they debited me for NO SERVICES offered. Your better off using some reputable structured freelance service

Erandy Rtv

This review is written by an individual who has purchased the reviewed product/service and/or confirms being a paying customer of this company. Check our FAQ

Verified Buyer
|

This review is from a real person who provided valid contact information and hasn't been caught misusing, spamming or abusing our website. Check our FAQ

Verified Reviewer

Unresponsive Service When Payment Errors Occur

stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full
Reedsy - Unresponsive Service When Payment Errors Occur

Chat response time takes so long when there is a problem. When the site declined my card, they blamed my bank even though the bank stated multiple times they verified the purchase.

But when I tell Reedsy this it's like they don't listen. This has caused my manuscript to be late because I can't pay my copyeditor and then get a finished manuscript to my proofreader. I feel like I'm at my wit's end, normally transactions go smoothly but the one time it doesn't Reedsy is annoyingly unhelpful.

It took them three days to respond when I first contacted their support team via their messenger and I can't even phone them for a quicker and more efficient kind of service so I have to rely on email and messenger which has done a number on response time and my patience.

This is most unfortunate since the editors and designers and other experts I hired using the site are amazing and their work is incredible and they do deserve every penny. It's just unfortunate that this experience has me second-guessing using this site in the future.

View full review

Preferred solution: Deliver product or service ordered

User's recommendation: Vendors are great, website owners not so quick with help when needed. Possibly seek alternative vendors

Karen C Psf

This review is written by an individual who has purchased the reviewed product/service and/or confirms being a paying customer of this company. Check our FAQ

Verified Buyer
|

This review is from a real person who provided valid contact information and hasn't been caught misusing, spamming or abusing our website. Check our FAQ

Verified Reviewer

They will steal your money

stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full
Reedsy - They will steal your money
Reedsy - They will steal your money - Image 2
Great place to drop $900 and get NOTHING in return. Their project protection is a complete joke. Author refused to read the materials necessary to write my book, and made errors all over the place. They took $900 from me, and I received absolutely nothing in return.
View full review
Loss:
$900
Cons:
  • Took 900 dollars and i got nothing in return

Preferred solution: Apology

User's recommendation: Do NOT give them your money

Resolved
anna m Mtu

This review is from a real person who provided valid contact information and hasn't been caught misusing, spamming or abusing our website. Check our FAQ

Verified Reviewer

Resolved: Your site is not working correctly

stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full
Updated by user Aug 04, 2023

It was my computer error- customer service helped me correct the login.

Original review Aug 04, 2023
i have a collaboration on going w Donald Weise and a thread of messages - plus payment history...I went to message him via an email he sent- 'Reedsy' said i needed to log back on- i did and it sowed no payment, collaboration and the messages we shared!!! I sent him a new collaboration request to get a hold of him and let him know- he responded and said we can use the response that he just shared as the one going forward-----
I was able to log in on my phone and send a message about the way i want to do his suggestions---- and the thread of out emails are there, payment history, --etc.

Why can't i see this on my computer log in? What is the deal???
View full review

Preferred solution: i cannot see the history of my collaboration when i respond to the thread i was using on my computer- no history nothing - i need the payments- the messages- the sent documents- etc. chats the deal!!!!

2 comments
anna m Mtu

Donald Weise is an excellent editor- the issue is w computer access w Reedsy- i am positive they will fix it

anna m Mtu

i want this taken down- i did not post this on this platform - i do not want this posted!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

View more comments (1)
muriel r Umu

This review is from a real person who provided valid contact information and hasn't been caught misusing, spamming or abusing our website. Check our FAQ

Verified Reviewer

Colaboration request

hello; I represent Pulsio Print, a large international printing company, and after doing some research we found out that you are one of the pioneers in book distribution in the USA. We would therefore like to start a business collaboration with you and would like to have the contact details of the person in charge so that we can discuss the matter.
View full review

Preferred solution: collaboration

Calliope Bmp

This review is from a real person who provided valid contact information and hasn't been caught misusing, spamming or abusing our website. Check our FAQ

Verified Reviewer
| map-marker Lagos, Lagos

Unable to delete some parts of my work

stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full
Reedsy - Unable to delete some parts of my work
I mistakenly created extra three parts ( that is, parts 1,2 & 3) in my book titled "Bonded Souls" and all attempt to delete them proved abortive. Please, help me out
View full review
Anonymous
map-marker Norway, Maine

To beable to sign up with reedsy

I have been trying to sing up with your free online book editing website it not possible why Please see into these issue here
View full review

User's recommendation: I recommend that next time reedsy should resolve new people who want to register and be consumer of reedsy online editing site

Resolved
Calliope Bmp

This review is from a real person who provided valid contact information and hasn't been caught misusing, spamming or abusing our website. Check our FAQ

Verified Reviewer
| map-marker Louisville, Kentucky

Resolved: Reedsy Changed Self Publishing Adventure

stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full
Updated by user Aug 31, 2023

I have been able to sort the issue. Thank you.

Original review Aug 31, 2023
Reedsy is a good platform that serves as an interface between you, the author and marketplaces like Amazon, Kobo Etc. It Publishes your book both as ebook, print copy and audiobook and gives you handsome royalties. As a self publishing author, look no farther anymore, because Reedsy is the answer to manuscript formatting challenge. Give it a try and you will be glad you did
View full review
Pros:
  • Reedsy encourages self publishing
Cons:
  • Unauthorized publishing of an already published book

Preferred solution: More of their service

User's recommendation: Publish your books at zero cost now. Don't procrastinate

Stuart S Ret

This review is from a real person who provided valid contact information and hasn't been caught misusing, spamming or abusing our website. Check our FAQ

Verified Reviewer

Is BookmarcAlliance is legit company?

stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full
They are trying to get me to give them $2500 to make a video of me and promote my book at the Frankfurt Book fair. Is this a happening or what?
View full review
Pros:
  • Trustworthy

Preferred solution: A recommendation and answers about the workings of the book industry.

User's recommendation: Caveat emptor....???

El-Hussein A

This review is from a real person who provided valid contact information and hasn't been caught misusing, spamming or abusing our website. Check our FAQ

Verified Reviewer

They do not honor their contract

stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full
I paid in advance for the service, but the editor did not submit the work. I complained to Reedsy who did nothing to solve the problem. They kept telling me to contact the professional who went on a vacation and never responded to my messages.
View full review
Loss:
$1815

Preferred solution: Full refund

User's recommendation: Awful experience with Reedsy Editing

Anonymous
map-marker Bloomington, Indiana

Reedsy deleted feedback and evidence against them

stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full
After they failed to submit the project on time, they deleted my feedback (rather than responding to it) and any evidence on their bad service that may be used against them.
View full review

User's recommendation: Avoid Reedsy

Why Trust Reviews on PissedConsumer?

  • Professional auto and live moderation
  • 100% user-generated content
  • Equal opportunity and protection
  • Zero tolerance for fake reviews
  • Verified content
  • PissedConsumer is on the Inc. 5000 list

For more information read Blog article